Lucy Felthouse

I thought about the reason why I didn’t want a revealing photo or piece of writing online. It’s because I write under my own name, you see. If I used a pseudonym, a piece of writing would never be linked to me, unless I wanted it to be. And as for a photo, if it didn’t show my face, then nobody would ever know it was me. That’s why I was having so much trouble coming up with an angle.

But now I’ve found it, I’m going to run with it. Even without nudey photos or explicit true-life scribblings, using my own name as an erotic writer exposes me. Not with other writers in the same field, oh no. They get it. They’re a great bunch and it’s a great community to be a part of.

It’s the non-writers, and even worse, non-readers that give me trouble. And if they’re old fashioned to boot, then I’m really in trouble.

As we’ve established, I write mucky stories. I’ve written them on many different themes; sex outdoors, sex in uniform, phone sex, sex with a woman and even sex with a guy delivering grocery shopping. Those who don’t get it assume that because I write all these erotic stories, I must have lived them. They don’t get that it’s possible to have an imagination, know how things work “down there” and be able to put the two together to come up with erotic stories which (I hope) other people enjoy reading.

Of course I haven’t had sex on an army base (more’s the pity). Neither have I had it off with the guy delivering my shopping. And I’ve never dabbled in Sapphic delights. These are all just ideas. That’s all it takes – a little spark of an idea and a story is born. Naturally, some of these ideas may come from real life, but real life is rarely as exciting as fiction, which is why so many people read it in the first place – escapism!

I’ve been asked lots of daft questions to do with my writing – which you can see in more detail here. Luckily, I’m thick-skinned and am able to laugh most of them off. Even more luckily, most of the people I choose to tell about my extra-curricular smut-mongering take it pretty well. That’s probably because I’ve sussed out what I think their reaction will be before hitting them with the news. I suspect many of them Google me the first chance they get and read some of the stuff I’ve posted online. They may even enjoy it. But I also suspect that, however cool they appeared on the surface, some of them probably wonder whether I have lived my stories, where I get my ideas from, and whether I’ve ever written a story about them, or someone we know. To be honest, I don’t mind any more. It’s what I do and the people that do get it are the important ones; the readers. And for those I am thankful.

Long live erotica, I say.

Oh, and though I won’t post a naughty photo, I don’t want my post to just be text. So here’s a photo of me with some books my stories have appeared in. And as to whether the ideas came from real life, well… nobody will ever know, will they?

9 Responses to “Lucy Felthouse”

  1. I’ve always felt the best fiction blends reality with make believe. You’re certainly correct that there are people who wonder if we write from real life. We see and hear that a lot. My answer is, inevitably, yes, I draw from real life. Not always my life, but it is real life.

    Oh and I have had sex on an Army base. Spending four years in the military will do that… 😉

    Nice post.

  2. “I suspect many of them Google me the first chance they get and read some of the stuff I’ve posted online. They may even enjoy it.”

    Yeah! And just think what a service you’re doing when you perhaps open their eyes and minds to erotic literature as a positive experience and a worthy endeavor.

  3. Lucy, thank you once again for contributing to F-stop. Thank you for being so brave – along with others out there (you know who you are) that choose not to nom de plume.

    And yes, long live erotica!

  4. Well said, Lucy. I read your post with a smile of memory. It truly is a common assumption that we have done everything we write… something I’m sure Stephen King and Tom Clancy do not have happen as often.

  5. Heh heh – I enjoyed your “5 annoying questions” essay (although I freely admit to getting turned on when i’m writing).

    Yes, isn’t fantastic to discover the community of erotica writers and readers – people who really Get It. People who do not think there’s something wrong with you just because you want to write about the most wonderful exciting things that can happen to a human being!
    I was knocked out to find out how clever, thoughtful, generous, gentle, talented and altogther wonderful erotica writers generally are. This includes you, of course!
    Long live erotica, indeed.

  6. “Even without nudey photos or explicit true-life scribblings, using my own name as an erotic writer exposes me.”

    Indeed! Thank you for doing so, and thank you for sharing here. I wholeheartedly second what Jeremy said: “And just think what a service you’re doing when you perhaps open their eyes and minds to erotic literature as a positive experience and a worthy endeavor.”

    Thanks for this post, Lucy!

  7. I was away on vacation for two weeks, but so glad to have your essay to greet me upon my return! Using our own names does expose us, but it’s also sending an important message–real people write erotica, even if we don’t live our stories to every last detail. The erotic spirit informing them is very real indeed. I also loved your “5 Annoying Questions” in particular “Are you ever going to do some proper writing?” I get that one WAY too often and it annoys me to no end, but I do have to feel sorry for the questioner who thinks s/he is being classy, but is really showing contempt for sexuality, which surely must affect his/her erotic life adversely. Maybe I should point that out the next time I’m asked that question ;-)?

    Thanks so much for a witty and thought-provoking post, Lucy!

  8. Well said, Lucy. My dad wants me to write something ‘less smarmy.’
    Ouch! It’s not like he’s read the erotica, either., Only a couple of
    odd stories I’d penned that I thought he might enjoy.
    Think again.
    Ah well. Families of writers are notoriously hard on their scribbling sibling/progeny.
    It’s a good thing we have our erotica ‘family’ to encourage and support us.
    Thanks again, Lucy, for adding your thought provoking essay to this terrific site.

  9. You are brave, talented and adorable. Your new site, Erotica for All, is a godsend. Good for you, Lucy, on all fronts.

Leave a comment